Living with rosacea and couperose

Hi everyone,

Everything is in the title : Yes, I have rosacea and couperose.

What is hidden under these medical terms ?

These are skin conditions which are not harmful, not contagious. It brings some redness on the cheeks, and visible tiny blood vessels too.

At the beginning, I thought I caught an allergy due to some cosmetics and creams. I went to a dermatologist and she told me what I had.

It can be caused by many factors : exposure to the sun, alcohol, spicy foods, coffee, tobacco… and there are so many reasons we can add to this : a lack of sleep, hormones disorder, stress, a sudden change of température, etc…

060061bf897b361b24c601fc4c6dbca3

Gaspar Camps

Of course, it’s hard to look at yourself in the mirror each day and see your face in such shape… It didn’t help me feel confident, especially because I was relatively young : 26 years old. It usually happens when we get old…

I’ve tried several treatments, including the Mirvaso cream. I have to say that this cream has spectacular effects on a very short-term : after a few minutes, the skin looks like a baby’s skin. But this is just temporary and after a few hours the skin becomes red again. It has a few side-effects, and after a while, my dermatologist said I shouldn’t use it every day. So I decided to stop using it, and instead, I use products for sensitive skin.

I’ve learned to accept this condition, just as I accepted all the body changes I had to go through. And now, I embrace it. It may sounds crazy but this is a part of me. And just like me, my emotions, my skin reacts also in its way.

The good thing is that I can wear make-up, because this is not related to any allergy !

During these past years, I’ve tried to look the more natural possible. Trying to find the best foundation, mineral powders and blushes etc…  that could suit me and lower the redness.

Japanese character : Kumamon

Kumamon

Rosacea gives you a pink tone, it’s better to find make-up with a yellow undertone. It lowers the “tomato-cheeks” effect, and gives you a natural look.

I’ve tried several foundations, and here are 3 that I recommend for people with rosacea and/or couperose :

1- Estee Lauder – Double Wear – Sand

My first love. It feels comfortable when you wear it, it hides all the blemishes perfectly.

2- Revlon – Colorstay

It’s a gift I received for Christmas, I finished it a few days ago, it’s good, hides well and doesn’t melt at the end of the day. I think it’s a good compromise, if we want to find something cheap and with a great quality.

3- Make Up For Ever – Mat Velvet –  Porcelain

This one, I am still testing it, but from what I see, it’s great. It looks so natural, the texture is more dense than the two other foundations but it’s easy to apply,

Then, I use any kind of mineral powder (I avoid the ones with perfume). But for the blush, I use mostly orange/coral blushes,  to diminish the pink color on the cheeks due to rosacea.

I know I am not the only one living with rosacea, but I thought it would help others to understand this condition. I know it’s hard to talk about it or even show it to others. But it’s not something we should be ashamed of.

Instead of turning it into something negative, I’ve been thinking about it as an opportunity : I can take care of myself better than anyone else, and I can share this experience with others, who also suffer from it.

If you also want to share your experience about it, or if you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment !

xoxo

Leave a Comment

